2017 Tour of the Basque Country LIVE stream, Preview, Start List, Route Details, Results, Photos, Stage Profiles - Vuelta al Pais Vasco

 

Bookmark and Share

Follow cyclingfans on Twitter and never miss a race. Cyclingfans.com: The #1 destination on the internet for live race coverage.

 

- 2017 Tour of the Basque Country Live Online Coverage Guide -

 

Alberto Contador (Tinkoff) won the 2016 Vuelta al Pais Vasco. (file photo)
Alberto Contador
(Team Saxo-Tinkoff) photographed by Pete Geyer, www.cyclingfans.com
photo Copyright © 2013 Pete Geyer
- Click for High Definition -

Cycling in Literature:  Ernest Hemingway mentioned the Tour of the Basque Country
in his first major novel, "The Sun Also Rises" (1926).  In the story, which
takes place in Paris, San Sebastian and Pamplona, Hemingway wrote,

"There was a bicycle-race on, the Tour du Pays Basque,
and the riders were stopping that night in San Sebastian.
In the dining-room, at one side, there was a long table
of bicycle-riders, eating with their trainers and managers.
They were all French and Belgians, and paid close attention
to their meal, but they were having a good time.....
The next morning at five o'clock the race resumed with
the last lap, San Sebastian-Bilbao.  The bicycle-riders drank
much wine and were burned and browned by the sun.
They did not take the race seriously except among themselves."

In a subsequent paragraph, the novel's main character and narrator talks about having coffee
with the team manager of one of the big bicycle manufacturers:

"Bicycle road-racing was the only sport in the world, he said.
Had I ever followed the Tour de France?  Only in the papers.
The Tour de France was the greatest sporting event in the world.
Following and organizing the road races had made him know France."

Hemingway wrote the first draft of the novel on the terrace of a left bank Paris cafe,
La Closerie des Lilas.  The photo above shows the Ile Saint-Louis, a natural island
on the Seine river, seen from the left bank.  I waited for a Parisian tourist riverboat
to pass, providing background illumination for the nighttime shot.  In the mid 1990s, French officials dedicated
an Ernest Hemingway street in Paris.  There is also an Ernest Hemingway High School in Nimes,
in the south of France, which can be seen from trains to and from Montpellier.
For those of you who read "The Sun Also Rises" in high school, how many
of you remember mention of the Tour of the Basque Country or cycling at all?

Copyright © 2010 Pete Geyer/www.cyclingfans.com

2017 Tour of the Basque Country Stage 6 Profile

 Notes:  (latest notes always appear at the top)

 
Cyclingfans LIVE on Twitter

On Sunday: Paris-Roubaix LIVE
Also on today: Healthy Ageing Tour LIVE

 

- News: Valverde continues 2017 stage race success with first Vuelta al Pais Vasco title. (Cyclingnews) - Movistar rider to carry winning form into the Ardennes

- News: Fourth second place GC result of 2017 for Contador. (Cyclingnews) - Trek-Segafredo rider motivated by narrow losses to Valverde

- News: Valverde wins the Vuelta al Pais Vasco. (Cyclingnews) - Contador settles for second place, Roglic claims time trial finale

- Videos: Tour of the Basque Country Videos

- Results: Tour of the Basque Country Results


- Stage 6 route profile, timetable and more info in table below.

- Primoz Roglic (LottoNL-Jumbo) won the Stage 6 Individual Time Trial.  Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) won the 2017 Tour of the Basque Country.

- Saturday's Tour of the Basque Country Stage 6, a 27.7 km Individual Time Trial at Eibar, gets underway at 2:07pm CET (8:07am U.S. Eastern) with the departure of the first riderTour of the Basque Country live streaming video should get underway at around *3:30pm CET (*9:30am U.S. Eastern). *Eurosport is scheduled to begin at this time.  Other feeds, likely geo-restricted, may start earlier.

- 2017 Tour of the Basque Country Stage Previews, Towns, Timetables, Profiles:

Stage details Stage profiles
Stage 1: Monday, April 3
Pamplona/Eguesibar-Sarriguren (153.3 km)
Map, timetable, preview and more here.
 
Stage 2: Tuesday, April 4
Pamplona/Eltziego (173.4 km)
Map, timetable, preview and more here.
Stage 3: Wednesday, April 5
Vitoria-Gasteiz/San Sebastian (160.5 km)
Map, timetable, preview and more here.
 
Stage 4: Thursday, April 6
San Sebastian/Bilbao (174.1 km)
Map, timetable, preview and more here.
 
Stage 5: Friday, April 7
Bilbao/Eibar-Arrate (139.8 km)
Map, timetable, preview and more here.
Stage 6: Saturday, April 8
Eibar/Eibar (27.7 km Individual Time Trial)
Map, timetable, preview and more here.

 

- Stage 6 ITT Start Order and Times here.

- Official site ticker LIVE here.  Leaderboard LIVE here.  (With times at intermediate check point and at finish)

- LIVE video here.  (Eitb, geo-restricted)  - Expected LIVE video here.  (ESport3, geo-restricted)

- Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) won Stage 5 and took over the lead on G.C.

- News: Contador in the hunt for Vuelta al Pais Vasco overall. (Cyclingnews) - Trek-Segafredo rider aiming to add to four previous wins

- News: Bardet eyeing off Vuelta al Pais Vasco GC. (Cyclingnews) - AG2R-La Mondiale rider sits third with Eibar time trial to come

- News: Samuel Sanchez has surgery after solo Basque Tour crash. (Cyclingnews) - BMC rider unlikely to start final Pais Vasco stage

- News: Valverde wins queen stage of Vuelta al Pais Vasco. (Cyclingnews) - Movistar rider takes out queen stage over Bardet, Uran

- Friday's Tour of the Basque Country Stage 5 departs Bilbao at 2:01pm CET (8:01am U.S. Eastern) and is expected at the finish at Eibar-Arrate at around 5:30pm CET (11:30am U.S. Eastern).  Tour of the Basque Country live streaming video should get underway at around 3:00pm CET (9:00am U.S. Eastern).  *A geo-restricted live feed starts at this time.  Worldwide feeds start 30 minutes later.

- Primoz Roglic (LottoNL-Jumbo) won Stage 4.  David de la Cruz (QuickStep Floors) remains leader on G.C.

- News: Cummings, Atapuma injured in Pais Vasco crash. (Cyclingnews) -

- News: Valverde eyes Pais Vasco queen stage after sailing through stage 4. (Cyclingnews) - Spaniard likes his chances for final climb

- News: Contador presses on after a painful day in the Basque Country. (Cyclingnews) - Spaniard feeling the effects of a hard crash

- News: Primoz Roglic wins stage 4. (Cyclingnews) - De la Cruz retains lead, Contador crashes twice

- Thursday's Tour of the Basque Country Stage 4 departs San Sebastian at 1:09pm CET (7:09am U.S. Eastern) and is expected at the finish at Bilbao at around 5:30pm CET (11:30am U.S. Eastern).  Tour of the Basque Country live streaming video should get underway at around 3:00pm CET (9:00am U.S. Eastern).

- David de la Cruz (QuickStep Floors) won Stage 3 (ahead of Michal Kwiatkowski and Jay McCarthy) and is new leader in the general classification.

- News: De la Cruz solos to stage 3 victory in Vuelta al Pais Vasco. (Cyclingnews) - Spaniard takes over race lead with audacious attack.

- News: Contador expects a calmer end to Vais Pasco stage 3. (Cyclingnews) - Six ranked climbs but perhaps another sprint finish.

- News: Matthews misses second Pais Vasco stage win but keeps leader's jersey. (Cyclingnews) - Australian Sunweb rider fourth in Eltziego

- Wednesday's Tour of the Basque Country Stage 3 departs Vitoria-Gasteiz at 1:30pm CET (7:30am U.S. Eastern) and is expected at the finish at San Sebastian at around 5:30pm CET (11:30am U.S. Eastern).  Tour of the Basque Country live streaming video should get underway at around 3:00pm CET (9:00am U.S. Eastern).

- Said Albasini post-stage: "I was looking before the race on the satellite pictures and for me it was pretty clear that we wouldn’t change position much in the final 300-400metres.  When the guys attacked in the final I went straight away and we didn’t change position much so that was the key to winning today.  I feel good at the moment.  I had two good weeks of training after Milan-San Remo and already in La Rioja on Sunday I felt really good and was able to pull out a result.  Even yesterday I was able to do a good job for Simon Gerrans to lead him out so it is actually really good to win today. It gives me a lot of confidence for the upcoming races."

- Michael Albasini (Orica-Scott) won Stage 2.  Michael Matthews (Team Sunweb) retained the overall race lead.

- Tuesday's Tour of the Basque Country Stage 2 departs Pamplona at 1:10pm CET (7:10am U.S. Eastern) and is expected at the finish at Elciego at around 5:30pm CET (11:30am U.S. Eastern).  Tour of the Basque Country live streaming video should get underway at around 3:00pm CET (9:00am U.S. Eastern).

- Team Sunweb directeur sportif Morten Bennekou: "The team did a very good job controlling the peloton all day, aiming towards a sprint for Michael.  When the early breakaway was caught with 20km to go we kept focused and positioned until the final. We are all especially happy because the victory was based on a strong team performance and an equally as strong individual performance. We are looking forward to riding with the yellow jersey tomorrow."

- Post-stage, Matthews said: "Today was a perfect day and the team worked all day out the front on their own. The guys put me into the perfect position to win the stage and I can't thank them enough for their help and support today. I am really happy I could take the win after all of their amazing work and dedication."

- Michael Matthews (Team Sunweb) won Stage 1 and is first leader in the general classification.

-

- Preview: Vuelta Ciclista al País Vasco 2017 preview. (Cyclingnews) - Contador, Valverde and Henao headline in the Basque Country.

- Team Sunweb directeur sportif Morten Bennekou: "Pais Vasco is a really difficult race with lots of climbing kilometres.  We start with a strong line-up, which is built around stage results and exploring GC possibilities. With Michael, we are aiming to further progress the dynamics in our lead-out and we hope that it will lead to some good sprints. Our goal with Warren is to see how much he can do in the GC, as he approaches the last step before reaching his top form. For uphill support we’ll have guys as Laurens, Simon and Georg, as well as youngsters Chris and Sam."

- Alberto Contador (Tinkoff) won the 2016 Tour of the Basque Country and he is back to defend.  Contador is expected to be joined on the start line by, among others, the following riders: Bardet, Alaphilippe, Valverde, Kwiatkowski, Nieve, Henao, Uran, Barguil, Sanchez x 2, Roche, Izagirre x 2, Arashiro, Visconti, Moinard, Clarke, Slagter, Talansky, Navarro, Vaugrenard, Wellens, Yates x 2, Gerrans, Kreuziger, Spilak, Ulissi, Atapuma, Swift,...

- Monday's Tour of the Basque Country Stage 1 departs Pamplona at 1:41pm CET (7:41am U.S. Eastern) and is expected at the finish at Eguesibar-Sarriguren at around 5:31pm CET (11:31am U.S. Eastern).  Tour of the Basque Country live streaming video should get underway at around 3:00pm CET (9:00am U.S. Eastern).

- The 2017 Tour of the Basque Country is being held April 3-8.

- For the 13th consecutive year, you can follow Tour of the Basque Country live on cyclingfans.com.

NOTE:  If you believe you may not be seeing the latest content on this page, try clearing your browser's cache (or try a different browser).

- More info and links to come.

- We will update here with the best and latest live feeds at broadcast time.

Spanish: Vuelta Ciclista al Pais Vasco (Vuelta al País Vasco)
French: Tour du Pays Basque
Dutch: Ronde van het Baskenland
Catalan: Volta al País
Basque: Euskal Herriko Itzulia

- Welcome to our live coverage guide for the 2017 Tour of the Basque Country (Tour du Pays Basque en direct).

2017 Vuelta al Pais Vasco LIVE
April 3-8, Spain
Official Website
Start List

Stage 6 starts at 2:07pm CET
(8:07am U.S. Eastern)

Finish at around 5:13pm CET
(11:13am U.S. Eastern)

Live video from *3:00pm CET
(*9:00am U.S. Eastern)


Eibar

 Eibar weather


Tour of the Basque Country Live Coverage

Live video streaming:

 

Links to come as available


(Eurosport live stream)
(3:30pm CET)
(9:30am U.S. Eastern)
Alternative
Alternative


(TDP livestream)
(--)
(--)
Alternative


(Esport3 live stream)
(-- CET)
(-- U.S. Eastern)
Alternative


(eitb live stream)
(May be geo-restricted)
(-- CET)
(-- U.S. Eastern)
Alternative

- more links to come -

(watch Tour of the Basque Country online)
(Euskal Herriko Itzulia live, directo)

 

Live audio streaming:

  (--)
(Listen online)

Live tickers:


(auto-translated to English)

Official site ticker

biciciclismo
(auto-translated)

- More tickers to come -

News and photos:


(cycling news)
Yahoo photo gallery (AP/AFP)

Copyright © 2017 www.cyclingfans.com

 

2017 Tour of the Basque Country/Vuelta al Pais Vasco Stage Profiles

2017 Tour of the Basque Country Stage 2 Profile

2017 Tour of the Basque Country Stage 1 Profile

 Nairo Quintana (Movistar) photographed by Pete Geyer, www.cyclingfans.com
Quintana won the Vuelta al Pais Vasco in 2013.
photo Copyright © 2013 Pete Geyer
- Click for High Definition - More Nairo Quintana -

Tour of the Basque Country/Vuelta al Pais Vasco Stage Profiles

2016 Tour of the Basque Country Stage 6 Profile

 

Notes from the 2016 Tour of the Basque Country

- Official site ticker LIVE here.

- LIVE video here.  (English, Subscription Cycling TV)

- LIVE video here. (Eitb, geo-restricted) - LIVE video here.  (ESport3, geo-restricted)

- Stage 6 route profile, timetable and more info here.

- Saturday's Tour of the Basque Country Stage 6, a 16.5 km Individual Time Trial at Eibar, gets underway at 2:35pm CET (8:35am U.S. Eastern) with the departure of the first riderTour of the Basque Country live streaming video should get underway at around *3:30pm CET (*9:30am U.S. Eastern). *Eurosport is scheduled to begin at this time.  Other feeds, likely geo-restricted, may start earlier.

- Diego Rosa (Astana) won Stage 5.  Sergio Henao (Team Sky) took over the lead in the general classification.

- Stage 5 route profile, timetable and more info here.

- Friday's Tour of the Basque Country Stage 5 departs Orio at 12:55pm CET (6:55am U.S. Eastern) and is expected at the finish at Eibar-Arrate at around 5:11pm CET (11:11am U.S. Eastern).  Tour of the Basque Country live streaming video should get underway at around 3:00pm CET (9:00am U.S. Eastern).

- Samuel Sanchez (BMC Racing) won Stage 4.  Wilco Kelderman (Lotto NL-Jumbo) took over the lead in the general classification.

- Stage 4 route profile, timetable and more info here.

- Thursday's Tour of the Basque Country Stage 4 departs Lesaka at 12:45pm CET (6:45am U.S. Eastern) and is expected at the finish at Orio at around 5:10pm CET (11:10am U.S. Eastern).  Tour of the Basque Country live streaming video should get underway at around 3:00pm CET (9:00am U.S. Eastern).

- Stephen Cummings (Team Dimension Data) won Stage 3.  Mikel Landa (Team Sky) remains leader on G.C.

- Stage 3 route profile, timetable and more info here.

- Wednesday's Tour of the Basque Country Stage 3 departs Vitoria-Gasteiz at 12:05pm CET (6:05am U.S. Eastern) and is expected at the finish at Lesaka at around 5:01pm CET (11:01am U.S. Eastern).  Tour of the Basque Country live streaming video should get underway at around 3:00pm CET (9:00am U.S. Eastern).

- Mikel Landa (Team Sky) won Stage 2 and is new leader in the general classification.

- Stage 2 route profile, timetable and more info here.

- Tuesday's Tour of the Basque Country Stage 2 departs Markina-Xemein at 12:40pm CET (6:40am U.S. Eastern) and is expected at the finish at Amurrio at around 5:01pm CET (11:01am U.S. Eastern).  Tour of the Basque Country live streaming video should get underway at around 3:00pm CET (9:00am U.S. Eastern).

- Luis Leon Sanchez (Astana) won Stage 1 and is first race leader.

- Stage 1 route profile, timetable and more info here.

- Note that Nairo Quintana and Alberto Contador finished 1-2 in last week's Volta a Catalunya.

Joaquim Rodriguez (Katusha) won the 2015 Tour of the Basque Country.

- Monday's Tour of the Basque Country Stage 1 departs Etxebarria at 12:50pm CET (6:50am U.S. Eastern) and is expected at the finish at Markina-Xemein at around 5:01pm CET (11:01am U.S. Eastern).  Tour of the Basque Country live streaming video should get underway at around 3:00pm CET (9:00am U.S. Eastern).

- The 2016 Tour of the Basque Country is being held April 4-9.

- This race is also on in English on Cycling TV and a subscription includes On Demand replay.  (Details at right)


(Subscription Cycling TV)
(Commentator: Marty Macdonald)
(Available U.S.A. and Canada)
(Also includes As Live Repeat)
(3:20pm CET)
(9:20am U.S. Eastern)

 

Notes from the 2015 Tour of the Basque Country

- Tom Dumoulin (Giant-Alpecin) won the Stage 6 Time Trial.  Joaquim Rodriguez (Katusha) wins the 2015 Tour of the Basque Country.

- Official site ticker LIVE here.  biciciclismo ticker/leaderboard LIVE here.  (auto-translated)

- LIVE video here.  (Basque, EITB, Spain only)

- LIVE video here.  (Esport3, Spain only)

- LIVE video here and here.  (Spanish, Señal Colombia)

- Stage 6 TT Start Order and Times here.

- Stage 6 route profile, timetable and more info here.

- Saturday's Tour of the Basque Country Stage 6, an 18.3 km Individual Time Trial at Aia, gets underway at 2:30pm CET (8:30am U.S. Eastern) with the departure of the first riderTour of the Basque Country live streaming video should get underway at around *3:30pm CET (*9:30am U.S. Eastern). *Eurosport is scheduled to begin at this time.  Other feeds, likely geo-restricted, may start earlier.

- Stage 5 route profile, timetable and more info here.

- Mikel Landa (Astana) won Stage 5.  Sergio Henao (Sky) remains leader on G.C.

- Friday's Tour of the Basque Country Stage 5 departs Eibar at 1:15pm CET (7:15am U.S. Eastern) and is expected at the finish at Aia at around 5:13pm CET (11:13am U.S. Eastern).

- Joaquim Rodriguez won for the second day in a row, taking Stage 4.  Sergio Henao remains overall leader.

- Stage 4 route profile, timetable and more info here.

- Thursday's Tour of the Basque Country Stage 4 departs Zumarraga at 1:05pm CET (7:05am U.S. Eastern) and is expected at the finish at Arrate (Eibar) at around 5:13pm CET (11:13am U.S. Eastern).

- Joaquim Rodriguez (Katusha) won Stage 3 ahead of Sergio Henao and Nairo Quintana.  Sergio Henao (Sky) is new race leader.

- Stage 3 route profile, timetable and more info here.

- Wednesday's Tour of the Basque Country Stage 3 departs Vitoria-Gasteiz at 12:55pm CET (6:55am U.S. Eastern) and is expected at the finish at Zumarraga at around 5:16pm CET (11:16am U.S. Eastern).

- Fabio Felline (Trek Factory Racing) won Stage 2 ahead of Michael Matthews and Tony Gallopin.  Matthews remains leader on G.C.

- Stage 2 route profile, timetable and more info here.

- Tuesday's Tour of the Basque Country Stage 2 departs Bilbao at 12:45pm CET (6:45am U.S. Eastern) and is expected at the finish at Vitoria-Gasteiz at around 5:13pm CET (11:13am U.S. Eastern).

- Michael Matthews (Orica-GreenEDGE) won Stage 1 ahead of Michal Kwiatkowski and Ilnur Zakarin.

- Stage 1 route profile, timetable and more info here.

- Gerrans confirmed for Tour of the Basque Country.  (Cyclingnews)

- Alberto Contador (Tinkoff-Saxo) won the 2014 Tour of the Basque Country but he is not back to defend.

- The 2015 Tour of the Basque Country is being held April 6-11.

- Monday's Tour of the Basque Country Stage 1 departs Bilbao at 1:15pm CET (7:15am U.S. Eastern) and is expected at the finish at Bilbao at around 5:24pm CET (11:24am U.S. Eastern).

 

 

Tour of the Basque Country/Vuelta al Pais Vasco Photos

(coming)