2016 Tour Down Under LIVE

  Bookmark and Share

Follow cyclingfans on Twitter and never miss a race. Cyclingfans.com: The #1 destination on the internet for live race coverage.

 

- 2016 Tour Down Under Live Online Coverage Guide -


Tour Down Under Art by Garth Bayley: The peloton on Stage 1
Copyright © 2016 Garth Bayley Art
Garth's cycling art is available for purchase at Garth Bayley Art.


Tour Down Under Art by Garth Bayley: Stage 2 sprint
Copyright © 2016 Garth Bayley Art
Garth's cycling art is available for purchase at Garth Bayley Art.

 Notes:  (latest notes always appear at the top)

 
Cyclingfans LIVE on Twitter

Also on today: Tour de San Luis LIVE

 

- This race is also on in English on Cycling TV, LIVE and On Demand.  (more details at right)

- This page will be updated throughout the race.

- Videos:  Tour Down Under Videos

- Results: Tour Down Under Results

- Art: Tour Down Under Art


- Race maps, profiles, stage details and info here.  More links to come, plus photos.

- Caleb Ewan (Orica-GreenEdge) won Stage 6.  It was Ewan's second stage victory of the race.  Simon Gerrans (Orica-GreenEdge) wins the 2016 Tour Down Under.  This was the 4th time that Gerrans has won the TDU.

- Cyclingnews ticker LIVE here.

- LIVE video here.  (English, Cycling TV, details at right)

- LIVE video here.  (English, Nine WWOS)

- Sunday's (Saturday evening in the Americas) Tour Down Under Stage 6 (Be Safe Be Seen MAC stage) departs Adelaide at 1:30pm local (10:00pm U.S. Eastern, 4:00am CET) and is expected at the finish at Adelaide at around 3:30pm local (00:00am U.S. Eastern, 6:00am CET).  Tour Down Under live streaming video should get underway at around 1:00pm local (9:30pm U.S. Eastern, 3:30am CET).

- Richie Porte (BMC Racing) won Stage 5.  Simon Gerrans (Orica-GreenEdge) remains leader on G.C.

- Saturday's (Friday evening in the Americas) Tour Down Under Stage 5 (BikeExchange stage) departs McLaren Vale at 11:10am local (7:40pm U.S. Eastern, 1:40am CET) and is expected at the finish at Willunga Hill at around 3:02pm local (11:32pm U.S. Eastern, 5:32am CET).  Tour Down Under live streaming video should get underway at around 11:00am local (7:30pm U.S. Eastern, 1:30am CET).

- Race leader Simon Gerrans (Orica-GreenEdge) took Stage 4, winning for the second consecutive day.

- Friday's (Thursday evening in the Americas) Tour Down Under Stage 4 (Bupa stage) departs Norwood at 11:30am local (8:00pm U.S. Eastern, 2:00am CET) and is expected at the finish at Victor Harbor at around 3:06pm local (11:36pm U.S. Eastern, 5:36am CET).  Tour Down Under live streaming video should get underway at around 12:30pm local (9:00pm U.S. Eastern, 3:00am CET).

- Simon Gerrans (Orica-GreenEdge) won Stage 3 and now leads in the general classification.

- Thursday's (Wednesday evening in the Americas) Tour Down Under Stage 3 (Thomas Foods stage) departs Glenelg at 11:00am local (7:30pm U.S. Eastern, 1:30am CET) and is expected at the finish at Campbelltown at around 2:44pm local (11:14pm U.S. Eastern, 5:14am CET).  Tour Down Under live streaming video should get underway at around 12:00pm local (8:30pm U.S. Eastern, 2:30am CET).

- Jay McCarthy (Tinkoff-Saxo) won Stage 2 and now leads in the general classification.

- Wednesday's (Tuesday evening in the Americas) Tour Down Under Stage 2 (Staging Connections stage) departs Unley at 11:00am local (7:30pm U.S. Eastern, 1:30am CET) and is expected at the finish at Stirling at around 2:33pm local (11:03pm U.S. Eastern, 5:03am CET).  Tour Down Under live streaming video should get underway at around 12:00pm local (8:30pm U.S. Eastern, 2:30am CET).

- Caleb Ewan (Orica-GreenEDGE) won Stage 1 ahead of Mark Renshaw and Wouter Wippert.  Ewan is first leader in the general classification.

- The People's Choice Classic is Sunday, January 17.  (Saturday night in the Americas).  This 51km event will be streamed live starting at 7:15pm local time.  Official site here.

- Rohan Dennis (BMC) won the 2015 Tour Down Under.

- Tuesday's (January 19) (Monday evening N. America) Tour Down Under Stage 1 (Hostworks stage) departs Prospect at 11:00am local (7:30pm U.S. Eastern, 1:30am CET) and is expected at the finish at Lyndoch at around 2:34pm local (11:04pm U.S. Eastern, 5:04am CET).  Tour Down Under live streaming video should get underway at around 12:00pm local (8:30pm U.S. Eastern, 2:30am CET).

- The Tour Down Under proper starts Tuesday, January 19.  Sunday's Tour Down Under People's Choice Classic departs Adelaide, East End at 7:15pm local (3:45am U.S. Eastern, 9:45am CET) and is expected at the finish at Adelaide, East End at around 8:15pm local (4:45am U.S. Eastern, 10:45am CET).  Tour Down Under People's Choice Classic live streaming is possible; either way there will be video highlights post-race.

- The 2016 Tour Down Under will be held January 19-24.

NOTE:  If you believe you may not be seeing the latest content on this page, try clearing your browser's cache (or try a different browser).

- Post-race photos and videos to come...

- More info and links to come.

- We will update here with the best and latest live feeds at broadcast time.  Pour les français, cette course sera diffuser en direct.

- Welcome to our live coverage guide for the 2016 Santos Tour Down Under.

2016 Tour Down Under LIVE
January 19-24, Adelaide, South Australia
Official Website
Start List

TDU videos from world media

 Stage 6 starts at 1:30pm local
  (10:00pm U.S. Eastern)
(4:00am CET)

Finish at around 3:30pm local
  (00:00am U.S. Eastern)
(6:00am CET)

LIVE video from 1:00pm local
  (9:30pm U.S. Eastern)
(3:30am CET)


Adelaide

 Adelaide weather


Tour Down Under Live Coverage

Live video streaming:

 
(English, CTV Subscription, USA & Canada)
(Cycling TV)
((-- U.S. Eastern))
(On Demand Replay)

Links to come as available


(Channel 9 live stream)
(la course en direct)
(May be geo-restricted)
Alternative


(Sky Sports live stream)
(-- U.S. Eastern)
(-- CET)
Alternative

 

Live audio streaming:


(ABC Radio Adelaide)
---

(Listen online)

Live tickers:

 


(Cyclingnews ticker)

TDU race tweets

- More tickers to come -

News and photos:


Graham Watson
Photography


(cycling news)
Yahoo photo gallery (AP/AFP)

Copyright © 2016 www.cyclingfans.com

 

Tour Down Under Stage Profiles

Stage 5 Profile

Tour Down Under Photos


Tour Down Under Art by Garth Bayley: Katrin Garfoot wins
Santos Women's Tour Stage 1
Copyright © 2016 Garth Bayley Art
Garth's cycling art is available for purchase at Garth Bayley Art.


Tour Down Under Art by Garth Bayley: Caleb Ewan wins
People's Choice Classic
Copyright © 2016 Garth Bayley Art
Garth's cycling art is available for purchase at Garth Bayley Art.


Rohan Dennis (BMC Racing) won the 2015 Tour Down Under.  More Tour Down Under Art.  Art by Greig Leach.  More The Art of Cycling -
Sponsored by Richeson Art -
Copyright © 2015 Greig Leach


Richie Porte (Sky) wins Stage 5
- Click for high resolution -
photo Copyright © 2014 Fotoreporter Sirotti/cyclingfans.com


Tom-Jelte Slagter won the 2013 Tour Down Under
- Click for high resolution -
photo Copyright © Fotoreporter Sirotti/cyclingfans.com


Cadel Evans (BMC Racing), back at the Tour Down Under for the first time since winning the Tour de France in 2011, wins Stage 3 and takes over the lead in the general classification.
- Click for high resolution -
photo Copyright © 2014 Fotoreporter Sirotti/cyclingfans.com


Cadel Evans (BMC Racing) and podium girls after his victory in Stage 3
- Click for high resolution -
photo Copyright © 2014 Fotoreporter Sirotti/cyclingfans.com


Andre Greipel (Lotto Belisol) wins Stage 4
- Click for high resolution -
photo Copyright © 2014 Fotoreporter Sirotti/cyclingfans.com


Andre Greipel and kangaroo
- Click for high resolution -
photo Copyright © 2014 Fotoreporter Sirotti/cyclingfans.com

Notes from the 2015 Tour Down Under

- Cyclingnews ticker LIVE here.  Text updates LIVE here.

- LIVE video here. (English, Nine)

- Sunday's (Saturday evening N. America) Tour Down Under Stage 6 (Be Safe Be Seen MAC stage) departs Adelaide at 1:30pm local (10:00pm U.S. Eastern, 4:00am CET) and is expected at the finish at Adelaide at around 3:30pm local (12:00am U.S. Eastern, 6:00am CET).  Tour Down Under live streaming video should get underway at around 1:00pm local (9:30pm U.S. Eastern, 3:30am CET).

- Saturday's (Friday evening N. America) Tour Down Under Stage 5 (BikeExchange stage) departs McLaren Vale at 11:10am local (7:40pm U.S. Eastern, 1:40am CET) and is expected at the finish at Willunga Hill at around 3:02pm local (11:32pm U.S. Eastern, 5:32am CET).  Tour Down Under live streaming video should get underway at around 11:00am local (7:30pm U.S. Eastern, 1:30am CET).

- TourTracker has iOS and Android apps for the Tour Down Under here.

- Friday's (Thursday evening N. America) Tour Down Under Stage 4 (Bupa stage) departs Glenelg at 11:30am local (8:00pm U.S. Eastern, 2:00am CET) and is expected at the finish at Mount Barker at around 3:20pm local (11:50pm U.S. Eastern, 5:50am CET).  Tour Down Under live streaming video should get underway at around 1:30pm local (10:00pm U.S. Eastern, 4:00am CET).

- Thursday's (Wednesday evening N. America) Tour Down Under Stage 3 (Thomas Foods stage) departs Norwood at 11:00am local (7:30pm U.S. Eastern, 1:30am CET) and is expected at the finish at Paracombe at around 2:51pm local (11:21pm U.S. Eastern, 5:21am CET).  Tour Down Under live streaming video should get underway at around 1:00pm local (9:30pm U.S. Eastern, 3:30am CET).

- More feeds to come...

- Wednesday's (Tuesday evening N. America) Tour Down Under Stage 2 (southaustralia.com stage) departs Unley at 11:00am local (7:30pm U.S. Eastern, 1:30am CET) and is expected at the finish at Stirling at around 2:56pm local (11:26pm U.S. Eastern, 5:26am CET).  Tour Down Under live streaming video should get underway at around 12:00pm local (8:30pm U.S. Eastern, 2:30am CET).

- LIVE video here.  (English, Nine)

- More feeds to come...

- This page will be updated throughout the race.

- Melissa Hoskins (Orica-AIS) won Stage 2 of the Santos Women's Tour.  Kimberley Wells was second and Annette Edmonson was third.

- Valentina Scandolara (Orica-AIS) won Stage 1 of the Santos Women's Tour.  Race details here.  (There is no live streaming for the women's race, unfortunately.  Hopefully next year.  We do have Santos Women's Tour videos, however.)

- Tuesday's (Monday evening N. America) Tour Down Under Stage 1 (Hostworks stage) departs Tanunda at 10:30am local (7:00pm U.S. Eastern, 1:00am CET) and is expected at the finish at Campbelltown at around 1:49pm local (10:19pm U.S. Eastern, 4:19am CET).  Tour Down Under live streaming video should get underway at around 12:00pm local (8:30pm U.S. Eastern, 2:30am CET).


Cadel Evans HD action profile
Copyright © 2013 Pete Geyer/www.cyclingfans.com

- 2014 runner-up Cadel Evans (BMC Racing) is ready and motivated but also wants to enjoy himself at his final TDU.  More here.

- New Australian National Champion Heinrich Haussler (IAM Cycling) will be targeting stage wins down under, reports CN.

- Marcel Kittel (Giant-Alpecin) won the 2015 People's Choice Classic.  Juan Jose Lobato was second and Wouter Wippert was third.

- Text updates LIVE here.  (People's Choice Classic)

- LIVE video here.

- Live video feeds to come if available.  (People's Choice Classic)

- The Tour Down Under proper starts Tuesday.  Sunday's Tour Down Under People's Choice Classic departs Adelaide, East End at 7:15pm local (3:45am U.S. Eastern, 9:45am CET) and is expected at the finish at Adelaide, East End at around 8:15pm local (4:45am U.S. Eastern, 10:45am CET).  Tour Down Under People's Choice Classic live streaming is questionable/possible; either way there will be video highlights post-race.

- Simon Gerrans won the 2014 Tour Down Under.

- Results:  2014 Tour Down Under Final Results

- Team Sky's Richie Porte is looking to have a big Tour Down Under.  More here.

- CN calls Tiago Machado "the perfect underdog" for victory at the TDU here.

- Ten years after winning the 2005 Tour Down Under, Luis Leon Sanchez is back for another shot at overall victory, reports Cyclingnews.

- Cyclingnews spoke to Phil Anderson about his expectations for the Tour Down Under here.

- Jack Bobridge and Steele von Hoff will lead Team UniSA-Australia at the Tour Down Under.  More here.

- Orica-GreenEDGE have announced their team for the 2015 TDU: Sam Bewley, Simon Clarke, Luke Durbridge, Matthew Hayman, Michael Hepburn, Daryl Impey, Cameron Meyer.  Said directeur sportif Matt White, "We might be going in without our defending champion....but it's a time for our guys to step up and prove that we are a multidimensional team and that we can win at all stages of the year even without some of our key riders."

- The FDJ team have announced their squad for the 2015 Tour Down Under, reports CN.

- Luis Leon Sanchez will lead Astana at the 2015 Tour Down Under.  More here.

- Michael Rogers will lead Tinkoff-Saxo at the 2015 TDU, reports CN.

- 2014 TdU winner Simon Gerrans will not be able to defend at the 2015 Tour Down Under due to a broken collarbone suffered while mountain biking.  More here.

- Greg LeMond will be honored at the 2015 Tour Down Under Legends' Night Dinner, January 24.  More here.

- AG2R-la-Mondiale have announced their team for the 2015 Tour Down Under, including Domenico Pozzovivo, Blel Kadri and Christophe Riblon.  More here.

- There will be a women's Tour Down Under in 2015, reports VN.  The Santos Women's Tour will be part of Cycling Australia's Subaru National Road Series.

- Richie Porte (Sky) hopes to bounce back in 2015 and his first big goal of the season will be the Tour Down Under, reports CN.

- Tour Down Under organizers will celebrate the career of Cadel Evans at the 2015 edition, reports CN.

- The Route for the 2015 Tour Down Under has been revealed. Cyclingnews has the details here.  (July 14)


(Universal Sports live stream)
(-- U.S. Eastern)
(-- CET)
Alternative

 

Notes from the 2014 Tour Down Under

- LIVE video here.  (English, geo-restricted)  More feeds to come...

- LIVE video here.  (English, USA, CTV subscription, includes On Demand playback post-race.)

- More feeds to come...

- Text updates LIVE here and here.

- Next update here as the stage gets underway.

- Results:  2014 Tour Down Under Stage 5 Results

- Sunday's (Saturday evening North America) Tour Down Under Stage 6 (the Be Safe Be Seen stage) departs Adelaide at 12:30pm local (9:00pm U.S. Eastern, 3:00am CET) and is expected at the finish at Adelaide at around 2:30pm local (11:00pm U.S. Eastern, 5:00am CET).  Tour Down Under live streaming video should get underway at around 12:00pm local (8:30pm U.S. Eastern, 2:30am CET).

- Results:  2014 Tour Down Under Stage 4 Results

- Saturday's (Friday evening North America) Tour Down Under Stage 5 (Pure Blonde stage) departs McLaren Vale at 11:10am local (7:40pm U.S. Eastern, 1:40am CET) and is expected at the finish at Willunga Hill at around 3:02pm local (11:32pm U.S. Eastern, 5:32am CET).  Tour Down Under live streaming video should get underway at around 11:00am local (7:30pm U.S. Eastern, 1:30am CET).

- Results:  2014 Tour Down Under Stage 3 Results

- Friday's (Thursday evening North America) Tour Down Under Stage 4 (Bupa stage) departs Unley at 11:30am local (8:00pm U.S. Eastern, 2:00am CET) and is expected at the finish at Victor Harbor at around 3:25pm local (11:55pm U.S. Eastern, 5:55am CET).  Tour Down Under live streaming video should get underway at around 1:30pm local (10:00pm U.S. Eastern, 4:00am CET).

- Results:  2014 Tour Down Under Stage 2 Results

- Thursday's (Wednesday evening North America) Tour Down Under Stage 3 (Thomas Foods stage) departs Norwood at 11:00am local (7:30pm U.S. Eastern, 1:30am CET) and is expected at the finish at Campbelltown at around 2:56pm local (11:26pm U.S. Eastern, 5:26am CET).  Tour Down Under live streaming video should get underway at around 1:00pm local (9:30pm U.S. Eastern, 3:30am CET).

- Video:  Stage 1 On Demand (USA, CTV subscription)

- Results:  2014 Tour Down Under Stage 1 Results

- Wednesday's (Tuesday evening North America) Tour Down Under Stage 2 (BikeExchange.com.au stage) departs Prospect at 11:00am local (7:30pm U.S. Eastern, 1:30am CET) and is expected at the finish at Stirling at around 2:57pm local (11:27pm U.S. Eastern, 5:27am CET).  Tour Down Under live streaming video should get underway at around 1:00pm local (9:30pm U.S. Eastern, 3:30am CET).

- LIVE radio here.  (English, updates throughout each stage and interviews before and after each stage)  Stage 1 (the San Remo Pasta stage) starts at 11am local.  Details for live video to come...  LIVE coverage on Cycling TV starts at 9:30pm U.S. Eastern.

- Details for Tuesday's Stage 1 (Monday night in North America) will be posted on Monday.

- Photos:  People's Choice Classic on Facebook

- LIVE video here.  (People's Choice Classic)

- Text updates LIVE here.

- Photos:  Teams Presentation on Facebook

- Note that Cycling TV has live and On Demand coverage of the Santos Tour Down Under.  Details at right.

- Thomas Voeckler (Europcar) crashed during training, breaking his right collarbone.  He is thus out of the Tour Down Under before it begins.  (January 15, 2014)

- Andre Greipel is confirmed for the 2014 TdU.  (Tour Down Under, December 19, 2013)

- Cadel Evans will lead BMC Racing Team at the 2014 Tour Down Under.  (BMC)

- The 2014 TdU gets underway with the People's Choice Classic on Sunday, January 19, 2014.

- Sunday's Tour Down Under People's Choice Classic departs Adelaide, East End at 7:15pm local (3:45am U.S. Eastern, 9:45am CET) and is expected at the finish at Adelaide, East End at around 8:15pm local (4:45am U.S. Eastern, 10:45am CET).  Tour Down Under People's Choice Classic live streaming should be available throughout.

- Next update here as live coverage gets underway.

- Race map, profile and info here.  More links to come, plus photos post-race.

- Photos:  2013 TDU Classic on Facebook

- Photos: 2013 Tour Down Under pre-race photos on Facebook

 

 


Simon Gerrans (Orica-GreenEDGE) won in 2014 but is not back to defend.
- Click for high resolution -
photo Copyright © 2014 Fotoreporter Sirotti/cyclingfans.com