Cycling news

New section: Cycling videos

We've added a new category at left for posts:  Cycling videos

Under Cycling videos you'll find all our current listings for bike race video highlights and clips, interviews, etc.

Final Teams Announced for 2009 Amgen Tour of California

Lance Armstrong, Levi Leipheimer, Fabien Cancellara and Oscar Freire will Lead Race’s Best-Ever Field of Seventeen of the World’s Best Teams to Compete in February 14-22 Stage Race on Twitter

We're now on Twitter, the fast-growing and free social networking and micro-blogging service.  It's a great way to get the latest on what's happening with your favorite riders, teams and events.  And now, in addition to our RSS Feed, you can get the latest updates, from your computer or mobile device, on live race coverage and other news via the Twitter here.  Some information will only appear on our Twitter, particularly info posted from the road.  Also, in the event that the main server is overwhelmed or has an outage during a race, we will post a link to our backup server on the Twitter.  Don't miss any race action, start following today!

Team Saxo Bank - Danish TV streaming video TODAY

TV2 Sport of Denmark is airing a program this evening on Team Saxo Bank (Cancellara, O'Grady, F. Schleck, A. Schleck, Voigt et al).

The program is scheduled to begin HERE at 21:00 CET (3pm U.S. Eastern).  We do not know if there will be any geo-restrictions.

Update:  Program on Team Saxo Bank (formerly CSC) survival training has begun.  Confirmed playing in the UK and France, not sure about rest of the world.

Help wanted: Atlantic Collegiate Cycling Conference Volunteer Director

Collegiate Cycling Volunteer Conference Director

USA Cycling Announces Elite Women's, U23 Men's and Junior Men's Squads for 2009 UCI Cyclo-cross World Championships

Colorado Springs, Colo. (December 23, 2008)—USA Cycling has announced the first round of nominations to the United States National Team for the 2009 UCI Cyclo-cross World Championships in Hoogerheide, Netherlands, Jan. 31-Feb. 1.

USA Cycling Announces 2008 Clubs of the Year

USA Cycling Women's Club of the Year:  the Velo Girls Bicycle Club (San Mateo, California)
Photo courtesy Lorri Lee Lown, Velo Girls

Colorado Springs, Colo. (December 22, 2008)—USA Cycling has announced the recipients of its annual Club of the Year awards. Ten USA Cycling-sanctioned clubs received recognition for outstanding programs throughout the 2008 season and will receive complimentary registration fees for the 2009 racing season.

First Eight Teams Announced for 2009 Amgen Tour of California

LOS ANGELES, December 18, 2008 – The 2009 Amgen Tour of California will once again bring together a world-class field of cycling teams from multiple nations, including eight of the sport’s top-rated ProTour teams.  Race organizers confirmed today that entries for the fourth annual race will include Lance Armstrong and the Amgen Tour of California’s two-time defending champion Levi Leipheimer’s team, Astana, along with two of the top U.S.-based teams, Garmin-Slipstream (new to the ProTour circuit) and Columbia Highroad (formerly Team High Road).  Also racing will be Team Saxo Bank, which finished in the top-three of the world rankings last season and Quick Step, which claimed 55 victories in the 2008 season.

The 2009 Amgen Tour of California roster includes the following eight ProTour professional cycling teams:

·         Ag2r-La Mondiale (FRA)

·         Astana (LUX)

·         Garmin-Slipstream (USA)

·         Liquigas (ITA)

·         Quick Step (BEL)

·         Rabobank (Netherlands)

·         Columbia Highroad (USA)

·         Team Saxo Bank (DEN)


Team Saxo Bank
jersey image not
yet available


Versus Adds Tour Down Under, Lance Armstrong's First Post-Retirement Race, to 2009 Cycling Schedule



NEW YORK, N.Y. (December 17, 2008)-VERSUS, the network that celebrates real competition and the
television home of professional cycling in the U.S., today announced a deal for the exclusive U.S.
television rights to the 2009 Tour Down Under.  The event, which begins January 20, in South
Adelaide, Australia, will kick-off VERSUS' 2009 cycling coverage and is also scheduled to be Lance
Armstrong's first competitive cycling race since retiring in 2005.   

Collegiate Cross Country National Champions Crowned

The men's DI cross country gets the competition started on a five-mile course on the Lees-McRae campus.
Photo courtesy Went Knipe

Banner Elk, N.C. (October 24, 2008) - The cross country competition kicked off the USA Cycling Collegiate Mountain Bike National Championships on Friday as nearly 200 collegians raced through the campus of Lees-McRae College for the second year in a row. The first day of competition set the stage for an old-fashioned shootout between host Lees-McRae College and last year's overall team winner Fort Lewis College in Division I, while riders from nearby Brevard College and Appalachian State earned the Division II men's and women's crowns respectively.

Syndicate content