Tour of California LIVE - Prologue

2009 Tour of California Prologue:  He's Back.
photo Copyright © Laura Alber/

 Notes:  (latest notes always appear at the top)

- Coming Sunday:  Tour of California Stage 1 LIVE (Start time: 12:00pm PST (3pm U.S. Eastern, 21:00 CET).  Also:  Laura Alber's Prologue photos, up close with Lance Armstrong, and more.  And of course more Tour of California video clips.

- Exciting prologue, huge crowds.  Our exclusive photos and video clip listings to come...  Lots more to come throughout all stages of the 2009 Amgen Tour of California.  We also expect more options for TOC live feeds starting tomorrow.

- Prologue start times again are here.  Final 10 riders will start with George Hincapie at 15:36 (3:36pm) local time (6:36pm U.S. Eastern, 00:36 CET), followed by the other big guns mentioned below.

- Eurosport live coverage has kicked in today afterall, on satellite and the live audio streams are playing as well.  (Bernie S.)  MJ Ray has Tour of California via satellite info in our cycling via satellite blog here.

- Regarding Tour of California coverage on Eurosport:  They have changed their schedules, looks like no live coverage until tomorrow.  -Bernie S. (UK correspondent)

- Liggett and Sherwen are now commentating live on both the Tour Tracker and on Versus TV (U.S.) is also now LIVE with the race.

- LOL!  Liggett and Sherwen definitely are not aware they are on the air.  They are preparing for broadcasting on Versus in 5 minutes but the Tour Tracker currently is playing their audio feed!

- Not sure Phil Liggett and Paul Sherwen know they're now on the air.  (Tour Tracker)

- Tour of California LIVE video now via the Tour Tracker (under "Live video streaming" at right). coverage should get underway shortly.  Eurosport coverage starts in about 30 min.

- We recommend you open our Twitter feed in a separate window now.  If ever we have a server outage, we will update on Twitter and direct you to a live coverage page on another server.

- Prologue Start Order and Start times here.  (.pdf)  As defending champion, Levi Leipheimer starts last.  The final 10 riders to depart are: Hincapie, Hamilton, Zabriskie, Armstrong, Vande Velde, Cancellara, Basso, Rogers, Landis, Leipheimer.  That is worthy of a Tour de France prologue!

- Now listing Velonews live ticker.

- Laura Alber and Carlos Rico are at the Tour of California all week providing photographic coverage for  Lots more photos to come later today.  And we'll answer the all-important question:  Which pro team has a Hannah Montana poster on the inside of their truck door?

- ToC Kick-Off Press Conference quotes here.

- We will update in the morning with more live coverage links as well as the Tour of California Prologue Start Order and Start Times.  Information and link updates will be made throughout the day each stage of the race.  We will also have plenty of Tour of California video highlights for you to watch at your leisure.  The first set of (pre-race) video clips will be posted in the morning.

- Tour of California live video of the Prologue starts on at 1:30pm local time (4:30pm U.S. Eastern and 22:30 CET).  Tour of California live coverage on Eurosport is scheduled to begin at 23:00 CET (5pm U.S. Eastern).  Live TV coverage on Versus in the U.S. is scheduled to begin at 2pm PST (5pm Eastern).

- Welcome to our live coverage guide for the 2009 Tour of California.

2009 Tour of California
February 14-22
(Tour de Californie)
Official Website
Start List

 The Prologue starts at 1:30pm PST
  (Finish at approx. 4pm PST)


 Sacramento weather

Live video streaming:

(Tour Tracker includes
live streaming video)

(San Francisco)


(more video links to come if available)


Live audio streaming:

Deutsch - Español
Français - Italiano
Check schedule

Live tickers:

News and photos:

(cycling news)
Yahoo photo gallery (AP/AFP)

Graham Watson
Tour of California Photo Gallery


Copyright © 2009