2010 Paris-Nice Coverage

Sunday update:  Our Paris-Nice prologue live coverage guide coming shortly...


Paris-Nice: "The Race to the Sun"
Copyright © Pete Geyer/www.cyclingfans.com

I say this every year:  Paris-Nice is one of my favorite races.  For years Paris-Nice is where my season began.  Hearing the sounds of disc wheels spinning in the streets of Issy-les-Moulineaux, home of Eurosport, race organizer A.S.O. and, until last year, French sports daily L'Equipe (and minutes from my apartment), I would snap my first race photos of the year and have an entire season to look forward to.  Two years ago, the Tour of California signaled the start of my season.  This year, the Tour of the Mediterranean saw my earliest start ever.  You won't find me complaining!

Aside from the always-welcome opportunity to visit Nice, one of the fascinating things about this race is that it is often won by just a few seconds.  So the yellow jersey is rarely secure going into the final weekend, as Robert Gesink (Rabobank), pictured above, discovered the hard way in 2008.  Gesink lost the yellow jersey on that day, on the stage to Cannes, and the overall was won by just 3 seconds the next day by the now-disgraced Davide Rebellin of Gerolsteiner.


2010 Paris-Nice Official Poster

This year's edition once again features a lot of big names including defending champion Luis-Leon Sanchez, Alberto Contador, Levi Leipheimer, Janez Brajkovic, Chris Horner, Yaroslav Popovych, Alejandro Valverde, Frank Schleck, Jacob Fuglsang, Jens Voigt, Sylvain Chavanel, Oscar Pereiro, Tony Martin, Andre Greipel, Roman Kreuziger, Heinrich Haussler, Philippe Gilbert, Christophe Le Mevel, Sandy Casar, Lars Boom, David Millar, Tom Danielson, Christian Vandevelde, Samuel Sanchez, Damiano Cunego, Serguei Ivanov, Pierrick Fedrigo, Simon Gerrans, Greg Henderson, Samuel Dumoulin, Borut Bozic, Brice and Romain Feillu, Koen de Kort, and Jimmy Casper to name a few.

The season may already be well underway but Paris-Nice is still considered the first big European stage race of the season.  With the Tour de France wild card announcement expected at the end of the month, a couple of outsider teams here will be looking for some big results.  Should be a good "race to the sun".  -Pete

There should be a number of options for watching Paris-Nice online.  We'll list the options for Sunday's prologue in the morning.  The first rider is scheduled to depart at 13:40 CET (7:40am U.S. Eastern).  Live television coverage will begin from 15:30 CET (9:30am U.S. Eastern), with Eurosport's coverage scheduled to begin at 15:50 CET (9:50am U.S. Eastern).

2010 Paris-Nice: March 7-14

Official Website
Start List
  Prologue starts at:  13:40 CET (7:40am U.S. Eastern)
Live coverage on RTBF: 15:30 CET (9:30am U.S. Eastern)
Live coverage on Eurosport: 15:50 CET (9:50am U.S. Eastern)
Other coverage options:  Please check back in the morning