2010 Critérium International route revealed

- More details for the 2010 Critérium International were unveiled today.  What was already known was that the race will be based at Porto-Vecchio on the island of Corsica instead of in Charleville-Mezieres and the Ardennes and that Lance Armstrong and Cadel Evans are expected on the start line.  The format, 3 stages over two days on a weekend (March 27-28 this year), will remain the same.  However, organizer A.S.O. has moved the climbing stage to day 1, with the sprinters' stage moving to the morning of day 2.  The race concludes with its traditional afternoon time trial on the Sunday.

2010 Critérium International Official Poster

Lance Armstrong last rode the Critérium International in 2004 (photo below), finishing 3rd overall behind winner Jens Voigt.  Voigt has won the CI a record-tying 5 times (the other 5-time winner is Frenchman Raymond Poulidor).

2004 Critérium International:  Lance Armstrong in the afternoon time trial on Day 2
Copyright © Pete Geyer/www.cyclingfans.com

Route details are awaiting final authorization but Stage 1 looks to be spectacular, passing through Bonifacio at the southern tip of the island, Sartene and Propriano on the way to the finishing climb on the col de l'Ospedale.  For a map and more info, visit the official site here.