2010 Paris-Nice route revealed

2010 Paris-Nice official poster design

- The route for the 68th edition of Paris-Nice, the "Race to the Sun," was unveiled today in Versailles.  The race, March 7-14, will begin with an 8km individual time trial at Montfort-l'Amaury in the department of Yvelines, southwest of Paris.  The 2010 edition marks the first year of a 4-year agreement with the department.

Stage 4 will finish with a climb to Mende, finish town for Stage 12 of the 2010 Tour de France.  Stage 6 includes a climb of the col de Vence, a long descent and a short climb to the finish.  The final stage around Nice will include climbs of La Turbie and of course the Col d'EzeAlberto Contador (Astana), winner in 2007 and race leader in 2009 before bonking, will be the big favorite.


March 7:  Prologue:  Montfort-l'Amaury (8 km)

March 8:  Stage 1:  Saint-Arnoult-en-Yvelines to Contres (201.5 km)

March 9:  Stage 2:  Contres to Limoges (203.5 km)

March 10:  Stage 3:  Saint-Junien to Aurillac (208 km)

March 11:  Stage 4:  Maurs-la-Jolie to Mende (172 km)

March 12:  Stage 5:  Pernes-les-Fontaines to Aix-en-Provence (153.5 km)

March 13:  Stage 6:  Peynier to Tourrettes-sur-Loup (220 km)

March 14:  Stage 7:  Nice to Nice (119 km)