Tour de Romandie LIVE - Stage 1

2009 Tour de Romandie:  Frantisek Rabon (Team Columbia-Highroad),
Czech time trial champion, won yesterday's prologue.
Copyright © 2009 Fotoreporter Sirotti for cyclingfans.com

 Notes:  (latest notes always appear at the top, below sticky notes)

Also on today: Vuelta Ciclista Asturias LIVE
Spain, April 28-May 2
Official Website
Start List

Live video streaming:

rtpa.es
Alternative
(15:15 CET (9:15am U.S. Eastern))

 

- Tour de Romandie:  Thursday's Stage 2 departs La Chaux-de-fonds at 13:10 CET (7:10am U.S. Eastern).  Tour de Romandie live video on cycling.tv is scheduled to begin at 16:00 CET (10am U.S. Eastern).  "Live" coverage on SportItalia is also scheduled to begin at that time but tends to run late.

- Vuelta a Asturias:  Thursday will see 2 stages, a morning Stage 3A and an afternoon Stage 3B (a 14.2km individual time trial).  Stage 3A departs Gijon at 10:00 CET (4am U.S. Eastern) and is expected at the finish in Aviles at around 12:13 CET (6:13am U.S. Eastern).  Stage 3B at Castrillon gets underway when the first rider departs at 16:00 CET (10am U.S. Eastern).  It appears that rtpa.es will only be covering the afternoon stage, with live coverage scheduled to begin at 15:15 CET (9:15am U.S. Eastern).

- Tour of the Gila:  Organizers tell us they are working on possibly getting some form of live coverage.  Stay tuned.

- Tour de Romandie LIVE now on SportItalia.  Links at right.

- Want to see why today's Romandie stage didn't cross the Jaun Pass?  Check out the view from this webcam.  -Bernie S.

- Vuelta a Asturias LIVE now on rtpa.es.  (links above)

 


2009 Tour de Romandie prologue: A Rabobank rider departs.
photo courtesy tourderomandie.ch - More photos

- Tour de Romandie:  Due to bad weather conditions (snow in the mountains), today's Stage 1 has been cut in half.  It will skip the first part of the planned stage entirely, including the category 1 Col du Jaun climb, and will now depart from Bulle à Broc at 15:00 CET (9am U.S. Eastern).  The stage has been shortened to 87.6km from the original 176.2km.  (You can view an animation of the originally planned Stage 1 route here, quite a winding parcours in the mountains.)  The peloton is expected at the finish in Fribourg at around 17:00 CET (11am U.S. Eastern).  Tour de Romandie live video streaming on cycling.tv is scheduled to begin at 16:00 CET (10am U.S. Eastern).  Live coverage on SportItalia is also scheduled to begin at that time.

- Vuelta a Asturias:  Today's Stage 2 departs Llanes at 12:00 CET (6am U.S. Eastern).  Vuelta Asturias live video streaming on rtpa.es is scheduled to begin at 15:15 CET (9:15am U.S. Eastern).

Tour of the Gila Volunteers Needed

Lance Armstrong, Levi Leipheimer and Chris Horner will be among those competing in the 23rd Annual SRAM Tour of the Gila which starts tomorrow, April 29, and ends May 3.  Race organizers are still in need of volunteers.  If you think you may be able to help at any stages, please call 575-388-3222.

Tour of the Gila Official Website

 

- More links and info to come, then updated each day during the race.

- We recommend you open our Twitter feed in a separate window now.  If ever we have a server outage, we will update on Twitter and direct you to a live coverage page on another server.

- Welcome to our live coverage guide for the 2009 Tour de Romandie.

2009 Tour de Romandie LIVE
Switzerland, April 28-May 3
Official Website
Start List

 Stage 1 start: 12:35 CET
15:00 CET
(3pm CET)


Bulle à Broc

 Fribourg weather


Live video streaming:


10am U.S. Eastern
(North America, Subscription)

sportitalia
Alternative
(16:00 CET (10am U.S. Eastern))

tsr.ch
(Switzerland, geo-restricted)

(more links to come)

 

(more video links to come if available)

 

Live tickers:

Official site ticker

 

(more tickers to come if available)

News and photos:


(cycling news)
Yahoo photo gallery (AP/AFP)


Graham Watson
Photography

 

Copyright © 2009 www.cyclingfans.com